Ward Committes

eMadlangeni Local Municipality successfully launched ward committees.


eMadlangeni Local Municipality, public participation unit together with Department of  Cooperate Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) launched ward committees at eMadlangeni Municipality. This prestigious event was held at Utrecht town hall on 19 January 2017.

Deputy Mayor Cllr Ntsikelelo Ndlovu stated that, ward committees represent communities with various interest groups. Their main responsibility is to liaise with the councillors on issues affecting the communities that have elected them. Councillors were urged to uphold high ethical values and comply with their roles and responsibilities.


Ms Zanele Sithole from COGTA who conducted the induction of ward committees clearly stated that ward committees are to effectively support the elected ward councillor of their wards.

She outlined the ward committees’ key responsibilities as follows:


  • Convene and attend ward meetings
  • Ensure that war rooms are functioning
  • Tabling of reports and plans addressing the needs and priorities of the community.
  • Provide feedback on the services rendered by the municipality that impact the ward, in order to formulate recommendations to be submitted to the municipality through the ward councillor.


The municipal speaker, Cllr Z H Madi encouraged ward committees members always serve the best interests of the communities that have elected them. This can be achieved by recommending municipal programmes that are community centred, driven and implemented whilst acknowledging the diversity in the ward.

Ward committee members were urged to adhere to the principles of good governance, which are: integrity, objectivity, accountability, regular reporting, transparency, consensus, leadership and public participation.

eMadlangeni has 60 ward committees; all members of the wards committees signed a pledge to serve the community.

Her worship Cllr LY Mhlungu closed off the event with words of encouragement to ward committees.

For more information please contact Communications Officer on 034 331 3041, 073 294 5234